TONBRIDGE & MALLING BOROUGH COUNCIL

COUNCIL

25 September 2007

Report of the Monitoring Officer

Part 1- Public

Matters For Decision

1 MEMBERSHIP OF THE TOWN AND PARISH COUNCILS STANDARDS SUB-COMMITTEE

1.1 Introduction

- 1.1.1 On 24 April 2007, Council resolved that the number of parish council representatives on the Town and Parish Councils Standards Sub-Committee be increased from five to twelve It also resolved that, subject to their being willing to do so, the existing parish council representatives be invited to continue in office for a further four-year term.
- 1.1.2 Of the previous members, Messrs John Day, Barry Hughes, Martin Stonard and Robin Whiteside did not stand for re-election, so that the only surviving representative is David Storey of Ryarsh. This meant that there were eleven vacancies.
- 1.1.3 The parish councils have been invited to submit nominations to fill these vacancies and, to date, the following nominations have been received:

John Allan Beadle Ditton Parish Council
Christopher John King Snodland Town Council
Keith Sidney Malkinson Wouldham Parish Council
Kenneth John Terry Hadlow Parish Council

1.1.4 Even with these nominations, there still remain seven vacancies. Following this meeting, I will be writing again to the parish councils, to encourage more nominations to be brought forward.

1.2 Legal Implications

1.2.1 The membership of the Town and Parish Councils Standards Sub-Committee must be constituted in accordance with the provisions contained in the Local Government Act 2000.

1.3 Financial and Value for Money Considerations

- 1.3.1 Not applicable
- 1.4 Risk Assessment
- 1.4.1 Not applicable
- 1.5 Recommendations
- 1.5.1 It is **recommended** that:
 - 1) the names of the parish council representatives be noted; and
 - 2) the town and parish councils be urged to find sufficient representatives so as to bring membership of the sub-committee up to strength.

Background papers:

contact: Duncan Robinson 01732 876033

None

Duncan Robinson

Monitoring Officer